A regular meeting of the Buena Vista County Landfill was held on the above date, electronically. The meeting was called to order at 6:00 PM by Chair Erik Mosbo, with the following members present electronically: Tom Grafft, Jim Wise, Barry Meyer, Brian Oakleaf, Stan Henrich, Megan Peterson, Don Altena, Mike White, and Sue Jarvis. Absent: Linn Grove. The electronic meeting protocol was authorized as a result of Governor Reynolds State Public Emergency Declaration issued on March 20, 2020 and extended on September 18, 2020 in response to the COVID-19 pandemic, and referencing Iowa Code 29C.6(6) and Iowa Code 21.8, 26.12, and 414.12 in relation to open meeting laws. Also present were Manager Lori Dicks, Commission Attorney Gary Armstrong, Insurance Agent Clark Fort, Jason Raveling from Hunzelman, Putzier & Co., and Tim McCarten of T. P. Anderson.

2021 Elections was added as an agenda item. Jarvis moved, and Meyer seconded, to approve the amended agenda. Motion carried with all members voting aye. Wise moved, and Jarvis seconded, to approve the minutes from the Dec. 10 regular meeting. Motion carried with all members voting aye.

Peterson moved to re-elect all current Buena Vista County Solid Waste Commission positions, Executive Board members, and CBHHWA Board representatives, seconded by Wise. Motion carried with all members voting aye. For the 2021 calendar year, Erik Mosbo will serve as Chairman, Tom Grafft as Vice-Chairman, Megan Peterson as Secretary, and Don Altena as Treasurer. The 2021 Executive Board will be Erik Mosbo, Tom Grafft, Megan Peterson, Don Altena, and Barry Meyer. The 2021 CBHHWA (Cherokee Buena Vista Household Hazardous Waste Agency) Board will be Sue Jarvis, Megan Peterson, Don Altena and Lori Dicks.

Tim McCarten of T.P. Anderson presented the FY20 Audit. He said it was a clean audit with no adjustments and the Commission is in a strong financial condition. Grafft moved, and Henrich seconded, to approve the FY20 Audit. Peterson moved to accept the bond renewal at the same rate as last year, for a premium of \$128/year, seconded by Oakleaf. Motion carried with all members voting aye. Nothing was presented for the Engineer's report.

The Accountant's Report was prepared by Hunzelman, Putzier, & Co., and presented by Jason Raveling. The total of the unpaid bills for December was \$130,493.55. Wise moved, and Grafft seconded, to approve the amended, unpaid bills. Motion carried with all members voting aye. The financial statement showed \$192,878 in operating receipts and \$116,343 in operating disbursements for the month of December, with \$76,807.17 still due from customers. December saw an increase to cash of \$8,375, bringing the total Fund Balance to \$1,978,871, including \$468,590 in funds restricted for closure/post-closure.

Manager Dicks presented the Manager's Report, and the strong audit was noted during the Treasurer's Report given by Altena.

The FY22 budget was discussed. Most discussion focused on setting the tipping rates for construction and demolition material, as well as feed/grain waste. Tonnages for both categories continue to go up, and both categories require additional work and maintenance to deal with. Peterson moved to add feed/grain waste as a new tipping category at \$80/ton and approve Option #3 of the budget, which will also increase the construction and demotion material tipping rate to \$65/ton from \$55/ton, effective July 1, 2021, which is the start of the FY22 budget. Motion seconded by Oakleaf and carried with all members voting aye.

The next meeting will be Feb. 11 at 6:00 PM. There being no further business, Jarvis moved to adjourn at 7:00 pm, seconded by Peterson. Motion carried with all members voting aye.

Respectfully Submitted \_\_\_\_Megan Peterson\_\_\_\_